

To:	Members Committee	the	Planning	Date:	6 December 2016
				Direct Dial:	01824 712568

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the **PLANNING COMMITTEE** to be held at **9.30 AM** on **WEDNESDAY**, **14 DECEMBER 2016** in **THE COUNCIL CHAMBER**, **COUNTY HALL**, **RUTHIN**.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal and Democratic Services

#### AGENDA

#### 1 APOLOGIES

2 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST** (Pages 9 - 10)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

#### **3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR**

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

#### **4 MINUTES** (Pages 11 - 18)

To confirm the accuracy of the minutes of the Planning Committee meeting held on 16 November 2016 (copy attached).

#### **APPLICATIONS FOR PERMISSION FOR DEVELOPMENT (ITEMS 5 - 10) -**

# 5 APPLICATION NO. 03/2016/0300/PF - LAND OFF VICARAGE ROAD, LLANGOLLEN (Pages 19 - 52)

To consider an application for the erection of 95 dwellings, together with associated roads, open space and related works at land off Vicarage Road, Llangollen (copy attached).

# 6 APPLICATION NO. 03/2016/0845/LB - PEN Y BEDW COTTAGE, BIRCH HILL, LLANGOLLEN (Pages 53 - 70)

To consider a Listed Building Application for replacing existing roof structure on rear conservatory to a glazed roof; reinstate square pyramid roof structure to rear, form new natural slate colour zinc clad roof covering above store to rear and replace guttering and downpipes to cast iron at Pen Y Bedw Cottage, Birch Hill, Llangollen (copy attached).

# 7 APPLICATION NO. 23/2016/0875/PF - CLOCAENOG FOREST, SARON, DENBIGH (Pages 71 - 98)

To consider an application for erection of a 132kV electrical substation and associated works (amended application) at Clocaenog Forest, Saron, Denbigh (copy attached).

## 8 APPLICATION NO. 43/2016/0432/PF - PARC DYFFRYN INDUSTRIAL ESTATE, FFRODD PENDYFFRYN, PRESTATYN (Pages 99 - 124)

To consider an application for demolition of existing buildings and erection of foodstore (Class A1), car parking and service areas, vehicular and pedestrian accesses and associated works at Parc Dyffryn Industrial Estate, Ffordd Pendyffryn, Prestatyn (copy attached).

# 9 APPLICATION NO. 45/2016/0740/PF - PAVILION THEATRE AND SUN CENTRE AND ADJOINING LAND/CAR AND COACH PARKS, EAST PARADE, RHYL (Pages 125 - 150)

To consider an application for re-development of 4.25ha of land incorporating the following hybrid (Full/Outline) elements :- Demolition of the former "Sun Centre" and the external refurbishment of the adjoining Pavilion Theatre incorporating over-cladding. (Full)- Erection of 4,000sq.m Class D2 Exhibition/Events Centre as extension to Pavilion Theatre (Outline)- Erection of 2,825sq.m detached 73 bedroom Class C1 hotel. (Full)- Erection of 2 no. Class A3 Family Restaurants (Outline)- Retention and re-use of existing retail kiosk and land train shed building for retail/leisure/community use (Full)- New and reconfigured car/coach parking (Full)- Improvements and alterations to existing vehicular access and turning areas. (Full)- Hard and soft landscaping details (Full/Outline) at the Pavilion Theatre, Sun Centre and adjoining land/car and coach parks, East Parade, Rhyl (copy attached).

## 10 APPLICATION NO. 47/2016/0997/PF - GROESFFORDD TREMEIRCHION (Pages 151 - 162)

To consider an application for an increase in height of front boundary wall at Groesffordd, Tremeirchion (copy attached).

## 11 CONFIRMATION OF TWO DENBIGHSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL TREE PRESERVATION ORDERS IN RELATION TO LAND IN THE MELIDEN AREA (Pages 163 - 214)

To consider a report confirming Denbighshire County Council Tree Preservation Order Number 03/2016 relating to land at Ffordd Hendre, Meliden and Denbighshire County Council Tree Preservation Order Number 04/2016 relating to land at Maes Meurig, Meliden.

## MEMBERSHIP

## Councillors

Councillor Raymond Bartley (Chair)

Brian Blakeley Joan Butterfield Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones Meirick Davies Stuart Davies Peter Evans Huw Hilditch-Roberts Rhys Hughes Alan James Alice Jones Pat Jones Barry Mellor Bob Murray Dewi Owens Councillor Bill Cowie (Vice-Chair)

Merfyn Parry Pete Prendergast Arwel Roberts Anton Sampson Gareth Sandilands David Simmons Bill Tasker Julian Thompson-Hill Joe Welch Cefyn Williams Cheryl Williams Huw Williams Mark Young

# **COPIES TO:**

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils